HOME Venue Hotel Schedule Exhibits
Convening Societies Attending Organizations Dealers Show Auction
Awards Banquet Youth Activities Other Activities Visiting Portland
Committee Volunteers Jury and Awards Palmares

Jury & Awards

Competitive philatelic entries at PIPEX 2022 will be judged
by an American Philatelic Society approved panel of accredited judges:


Michael J. Ley, Chief Judge, Doniphan, NE

Liz Hisey, University Park, FL

Ken Martin, Bellefonte, PA

John M. Hotchner, RDP, Falls Church, VA

Sam ChiuNorth York, Ontario, Canada

Portland Philatelic Exhibitions will make available to the jury panel,
with no restrictions on numbers,
PIPEX Large Gold, Gold, Large Vermeil, Vermeil,
Large Silver, Silver, Silver Bronze and Bronze Medals.

Pipex Medals
Portland Philatelic Exhibitions will also provide
PIPEX Grand Award
PIPEX Reserve Grand Award

PIPEX One Frame Grand Award
PIPEX Service Award

The Grand Award winner will be invited to participate in the APS
Champion-of-Champions event at StampShow in August, 2022;
the Single-frame Grand Award winner will be invited to participate
in the Champion of Champions event at the Chicagopex show in 2022

The following is the awards list for PIPEX 2022:

American Airmail Society
  • Medal of Excellence
American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors
  • Gold Award of Honor (2) - Excellence in Presentation
  • Creativity Pin - Most Creative Exhibit
  • Novice Certificate - First Time Exhibitor
American First Day Cover Society
  • Best FDC Award of Excellence
American Philatelic Congress
  • Award
American Philatelic Society
  • Medal of Excellence pre-1900
  • Medal of Excellence 1900-1940
  • Medal of Excellence 1940-1980
  • Medal of Excellence post-1980
  • Research Award
American Topical Association
  • 1st, 2nd & 3rd Place Medals
  • One Frame Merit Award
  • Youth Award
Benninghof Encouragement Award
  • Award
British North American Philatelic Society
  • Best BNA Exhibit
  • Best BNA 2 to 4 Exhibit
  • Best BNA One Frame Exhibit
  • Research Award
German Philatelic Society of the USA
  • Presidents Grand Award
  • Chris Hunt Award (Reserved Grand Award)
  • GPS one Frame Grand Award
  • Herman L. Halle Research Award
Northwest Federation of Stamp Clubs
  • Thunderbird Award
Postal History Society
  • Postal History Society Medal
United Postal Stationery Society
  • Hugh M. Southgate Memorial Trophy
  • W. Wallace Cleland Award
  • Statue of Freedom Award
United States Stamp Society
  • Marcus White Award
Upper Bongoland Collectors Club
  • Larry Spray Encouragement Award
Women Exhibitors
  • Sterling Achievement Award

The list of available awards will be extended or reduced contingent upon the scope of the exhibits accepted in competition. Moreover, no guarantees are given that the named societies will provide their awards.

Website designed by Linda Geerlings, maintained by Bill Seymour